Keeping it going

Despite a general lack of writing about running lately, I have, in fact, been keeping up with my weekly runs. In fact, I’m rather proud of myself that I kept on running, even through the Christmas holidays. I’m not saying that I ran fast, or far, but I kept it going.

And Lil Z and I have already racked up our first race of the year – which puts us well on target to achieve our goal of running more races together this year (which isn’t hard, since in the end we only did one last year!). It was only a 5km fun run, attached to the Pink Triathlon (so the race t-shirt makes me look hardcore, even if I wasn’t…). Our new au pair – freshly off the plane – ran with us, which was fun, but I think a tough introduction for her into running in the sub-tropics… Still, we must have looked like we were having fun, since even Vegemite said she would do the kids’ run next year!

But the Pink 5km was a good start to the year, since it reminded me of a few things:

1. If I wanna run with Lil Z, I gotta run with Lil Z. I hadn’t realised how long it had been since Lil Z and I went our for a run together. In fact, its been awhile. Long enough for me to forget that it is harder to run when pushing a 13kg girl in a stroller than it is to just run on my own. Long enough that I actually forgot how to break the stroller down so it would fit in the back of the car. Long enough that I forgot the golden rule about avoiding an upper body workout on the Friday if you’re pushing in a race on Sunday (oooh, my aching arms!).

2. If I want to run farther than a 5km, I’ve got to run farther than a 5km. I’m proud of myself for running over the holidays when I could so easily have been lazy, but now its time to start logging some distance. My non-Lil Z goal for the year is to do a half marathon in July, which means my training runs have got to start getting longer. I’ve already started this and did a nice and steady 10km on the weekend, but its time to start pushing myself a bit more.

3. You can’t run farther than a 5km if you only run one day a week. I’m currently doing one day of running and one day of personal training per week. I reckon I need to add another 1-2 runs per week to start improving my endurance and building up fitness. This sounds easy, but it isn’t always so simple. On the days I work, I’m up at 6am and don’t have any free time until 7.30/8pm when I finally get the girls in bed. It is dark by then, and since Brisbane doesn’t have much in the way of street lighting, it isn’t a good time to go for a run (not to mention I’m usually exhausted). I could get up at 5am and go for a run, but I already get up that early on Sundays to run, and as someone who loves her sleep and who is a night-owl by nature, its not realistic to think I can sustain getting up that early every week.

That leaves Saturdays and the two days a week when I don’t “work”. Although my non-working days are generally pretty full with insurance claim filing (more on thatin a later, angrier, post), appointments for Lil Z  and a whole host of other things that need to be done. Also, because its summer here, the only times that you can reasonably run without melting are either early morning or late evening. I always intend to run during the week, but it never quite happens. I’m going to have to figure out the best times and make myself stick to them. Which as anyone who runs knows, is one of the hardest parts of running…

But then again, if it was easy, I’d get bored and probably wouldn’t run at all…

So, look out in 2014 – Team Z will soon be plodding along in the middle of the pack in a race near you! Miss Z needs more medals to add to her collection!

Image

(And if you want to know our race schedule, I will be putting up a clever little calendar widget in due course).

Preferences
Preferences
Preferences
Preferences
Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences
Leave a Reply

